manna, our ‘what is this?’ nourishment

Until Home and Promised Land and complete clarity, I’m a wanderer crossing bridges, wanderer eating manna, eating mystery. For really, as long as I live, travel, is there ever anything else to eat? I either take the “what is it?” manna with thanks, eat the mystery of the moment with trust, and am nourished another day–or refuse it…and die. Jesus calls me to surrender and there’s nothing like releasing fears and falling into peace. It terrifies me, true. But it exhilarates. This, this is what I’ve always wanted and never knew this utter trust this enlivening fall of surrender into safe hands. There is no joy without trust! –1,000 Gifts pg. 158

Leave a Reply

