steps in the Spirit

But may all who search for you be filled with joy and gladness in you. May those who love your salvation repeatedly shout, “God is great!” Ps. 70:4

What joy is found in being filled with God’s Spirit. The idols that my heart worshiped far too long “good ones” the world and might I even add much of Christendom chorused! Ones like a “clean house” “quiet and rest”, “folded laundry” and oh my the epitomy of goodness “the children and husband” stole both my joy and my energy. “We are wives, we must keep up with ‘the standards’.” I whispered to myself hourly, it had the ‘semblance of wisdom’. Oh yes, Satan often allows the appearance of godliness and wisdom to his most innocent sounding lies. These pretty faced lies however, as idols do they left me drained of inner strength and bitter. When my husband came home at the end of the day my circumstances determined my joy, my outlook. That’s the test you know: If you can’t rejoice right now with great and exceeding joy in your heart and shout God’s goodness to your children and husband at the end of the day then an idol has stolen your joy. I had forgotten what joy was. I thought it was something that people had once their children were over the age of 10, and had a clean house and well the list goes on.  Praise God, He didn’t allow me to go on in my Baal worship.

When Christ in His grace awakened me again to the beauty and the sweetness of His loving fellowship I couldn’t bear to part with Him for a clean house and “perfect” children any day. Suddenly the Bible that had echoed hollow in my heart came new to me. God’s promises, His truth awoke afresh in me. Believing His Truth for each moment; whether a trial of feeling or circumstance.  Today, I thirst that each step I take be one of a firm hope in God’s power to do what He’s promised. I want to take every word of God and bank all on it. Where else can I bank my joy? No other place. I’ve been far too miserable for far too long to ever bank my hope on anything else. God help me.

 Now the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, that you might abound in hope,through the power of the Holy Spirit. Rom 15:13

Leave a Reply

