when feelings lie

Some things are the same. I still get discouraged or say tempted to bowing to the shrine of  “feelings”. My husband doesn’t understand when I try to explain these days but that’s because he’s not feeling oriented. I on the other hand struggle greatly with letting my feelings become Truth to me. Thankfully God’s allowed some crucial changes to take place and I’ve realized that feeling discouraged is a choice. A choice I must battle on who I will believe. Who’s voice will invent reality for me. Whether it will be the god of my “feelings” a place where Satan can whisper his doubt and lies into or believing what God says about my circumstances/self. When I don’t feel enough, when I feel like things won’t change, when I’m just feeling tired and well “overwhelmed” (A word I’ve decided I won’t believe ever again!) We can trust that with God we can handle what HE gives us. I realize it’s a battle for joy and it’s a battle over if I want to be happy or not. It’s a choice.

Just for an example today among other battles I’m fighting to not believe my feelings which are often swayed towards the world’s view of what makes a woman “good enough”. Yep, that’s a battle I fight often. Another battle I’m fighting today is the battle to say that feeling exhausted should make me discouraged. I’m going to pray that God would renew my mind and remind me today:

 Likewise, wives, be subject to your own husbands, so that even if some do not obey the word, they may be won without a word by the conduct of their wives, when they see your respectful and pure conduct. Do not let your adorning be external—the braiding of hair and the putting on of gold jewelry, or the clothing you wear— but let your adorning be the hidden person of the heart with the imperishable beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which in God’s sight is very precious. For this is how the holy women who hoped in God used to adorn themselves, by submitting to their own husbands, …1 Peter 3;1-4

Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain,
but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised. Prov. 31:30

Those who look to him are radiant,
and their faces shall never be ashamed. Psalm 34:5

What battle is going on in your “feelings” What truth and promises are you wielding? Find victory in the truth today.

Leave a Reply

